Stuttgart – Making Air Pollution Visible

Stuttgart / December, 2016 / Website

Das Luftdaten Team

 

Jan Lutz’s team is currently building a network of sensors for particulate matter. The data collected from their devices can inform the discussion on air pollution in Stuttgart.

Thick air

In Stuttgart the warning for high concentrations of particulate matter in the air is triggered on a regular basis. Its geographic location and particularly high number of cars are responsible for the fact that the European limits for air pollution are exceeded with alarming frequency.

Particulate matter – these are fine particles in the air which, due to their tiny mass, do not immediately sink to the ground. The particles usually come from motor vehicles, heating plants and agriculture. Once inhaled, they can penetrate into the bronchi and pulmonary vesicles, causing irritation and inflammation in the respiratory tract. When they enter the bloodstream, they also lead to other complications such as thrombosis, Alzheimer’s, and generally decreased life expectancy. Thus, they constitute a serious health problem in urban areas.

The topic has dominated municipal politics for years. This is how Jan Lutz and David Lackovic, members of the OK Lab Stuttgart, were drawn to the subject.

The right device

Despite the precarious situation, there are only few measuring stations from the State Agency for the Environment, Measurements and Nature Conservation Baden-Württemberg (LUBW) and the Office for Environmental Protection. The most famous one is located at the Neckartor, where more than 80,000 cars pass through daily.

That’s not good enough for the OK Lab. They set themselves the goal of collecting more data on particulate matter. This is done by a network of self-made sensors around the entire region. The measured particulate matter values ​​are displayed in real time over the Internet. The goal is not only to improve the data, but also to create more transparency in data collection.

The idea is great, but creativity is required in its implementation. The devices should not only be easy to install; they should also be relatively inexpensive to make.

The OK Lab in Stuttgart has been able to achieve better results over a period of two years – first with a sensor from a Japanese air-conditioning system, then with a particulate matter sensor, which measures “PM2,5” as the international standard alongside “PM10”. Fortunately, the sensors are so low-cost that they fit into the budget of around 30 Euros per device.

And do these low-cost sensors work? Yes. The measured values ​​have an almost identical curve profile compared to a professional instrument. And due to the high quantity of devices the result is empirically sound. The readings are so accurate that you can easily see when the rush hours of the day are. Their scientific expertise is also in the team: Ewald Thoma was a long-standing meteologist at the city.

The team can now do both – quantity and quality.

Große Resonanz

A good idea soon turned into a movement. Citizens’ initiatives such as the BI Neckartor or the Reallabor für nachhaltige Mobilitätsskultur have joined forces to draw attention to the problem.

No one likes to talk about the ugly topic of particulate matter. We just turned it around and found that there are also nice perspectives on it such as data visualization, open data and citizen science.

Jan A. Lutz

But not just organizations are thrilled. Suddenly, the lab is receiving tons of emails and inquiries: everybody wants a sensor. More than 300 devices have already been made possible through donations. As soon as they are put together – which takes about 20 minutes per device – they can immediately go online.

The project is far more than an environmental project. The network of particulate sensor makers is unique in Germany. The Lab is a meeting place for people who want to exchange ideas about urban development, open data, the internet of things and citizen science. Data journalists are also interested in the topic: the local newspaper will soon have an API and can integrate the data on their webpage. This is how particulate matter becomes a political matter.

For the next year, the Stuttgarters would like a closer cooperation with the city and the country. And an even bigger network – so that data from entire regions can be compared.

The official launch of the live network is the international Open Data Day on 4 March 2017.

Members

Stuttgart – aus Feinstaub wird Open Data

Stuttgart / Dezember, 2016 / Website

Das Luftdaten Team

 

Das Team um Jan Lutz errichtet zurzeit ein Netzwerk von Feinstaub-Sensoren in Stuttgart. Das soll die Datenlage verbessern und somit die Diskussion über das Umwelt- und Gesundheitsproblem besser informieren.

Dicke Luft

In Stuttgart wird regelmäßig Feinstaubalarm ausgelöst. Die geographische Lage und die besonders hohe Anzahl an Autos sind Schuld, dass die europäischen Grenzen für Feinstaubbelastung mit alarmierender Häufigkeit überschritten wird.

Feinstaub – das sind feine Teilchen in der Luft, die aufgrund ihrer geringen Masse nicht sofort zu Boden sinken. Die Partikel stammen meist aus Kraftfahrzeugen, Heizwerken und aus der Landwirtschaft. Bei Menschen können sie bis in die Bronchien und Lungenbläschen eindringen und so Reizungen und Entzündungen in den Atemwegen verursachen. Wenn sie in den Blutkreislauf gelangen, führen sie auch zu weiteren Komplikationen wie Thrombose, Alzheimer und allgemein zu einer gesenkten Lebenserwartung. Daher bilden sie ein ernstzunehmendes gesundheitliches Problem in Ballungsgebieten.

Das Thema dominiert seit Jahren die Kommunalpolitik. So wurden auch Jan Lutz und David Lackovic, Mitglieder des OK Labs Stuttgart, darauf aufmerksam.

Das richtige Gerät

Trotz der prekären Lage gibt es in ganz Stuttgart nur wenige Messstationen von der Landesanstalt für Umwelt, Messungen und Naturschutz Baden-Württemberg (kurz LUBW) und dem Amt für Umweltschutz. Die bekannteste Messstation liegt am Neckartor, wo täglich mehr als 80.000 Autos entlang fahren.

Dem OK Lab ist das nicht genug. Sie haben sich das Ziel gesetzt, mehr Daten zum Feinstaub zu sammeln. Und zwar in Form von selbst gebauten Messgeräten, die zusammen ein flächendeckendes Netz bilden. Die gemessenen Feinstaubwerte werden über das Internet in Echtzeit angezeigt. Die Initiative soll nicht nur die Datenlage verbessern, sondern auch mehr Transparenz in der Datenerhebung schaffen.

Die Idee ist genial, aber bei der Umsetzung ist Kreativität gefragt. Denn die Geräte sollen nicht nur einfach zu installieren sein. Auch sollen sie relativ preisgünstig hergestellt werden können. Das Stuttgarter OK Lab konnte über einen Zeitraum von zwei Jahren immer bessere Ergebnisse erzielen – zunächst mit einem Sensor aus einer japanischen Klimaanlage, dann mit einem Feinstaub-Sensor, der, neben “PM10”, die als internationalen Standard geltenden “PM2,5” misst. Glücklicherweise wurde der Feinstaub-Sensor so günstig, dass er ins Gesamtbudget von rund 30€ passte.

Ob diese günstigen Sensoren auch funktionieren? Ja. Die Messwerte haben einen nahezu identischen Kurvenverlauf zu einem Profimessgerät. Auch durch die hohe Menge an Geräten kommt man zu einem wissenschaftlichen Ergebnis. Die Messwerte sind so genau, dass man problemlos erkennen kann, wann die Rush Hours des Tages sind. Die Expertise dazu haben sie im Team: Ewald Thoma war lange Meteologe in der Stadt.

Das Feinstaub-Team kann jetzt also beides – Quantität und Qualität.

Große Resonanz

Aus einer guten Idee wurde bald eine Bewegung. Bürgerinitiativen wie die BI Neckartor oder das Reallabor für nachhaltige Mobilitätsskultur haben sich angeschlossen, um gemeinsam auf das Problem aufmerksam zu machen.

An das hässliche Thema Feinstaub traut sich seit Jahren niemand ran. Wir haben es einfach herumgedreht und festgestellt, es gibt auch schöne Seiten wie Datenvisualisierung, Open Data und Citizen Science.

Jan A. Lutz

Aber nicht nur Organisationen sind begeistert. Auf einmal bekommt das Lab viele E-Mails und Anfragen: Alle wollen ein Gerät. Bereits über 300 Messgeräte wurden inzwischen durch Spenden ermöglicht. Sobald sie zusammengesetzt werden – das dauert ca. 20 Minuten pro Gerät – können sie auch sofort ans Netz gehen.

Inzwischen ist das Projekt weit mehr als ein Umweltprojekt. Denn das Netzwerk der Feinstaubmesser ist in Deutschland einmalig. Im Lab treffen sich Menschen, die sich über Stadtentwicklung, Open Data, Internet der Dinge und Citizen Science austauschen wollen. Auch Datenjournalisten interessieren sich für das Thema: Die Stuttgarter Zeitung bekommt demnächst eine öffentliche Schnittstelle und kann damit die Daten auf ihre Online-Seite einbinden. So wird Feinstaub Teil der öffentlichen Diskussion.

Für das nächste Jahr wünschen sich die Stuttgarter eine engere Zusammenarbeit mit Stadt und Land. Und ein noch breiteres Messnetzwerk – damit Daten aus ganzen Regionen verglichen werden können.

Offizieller Launch des Live-Netzes ist der internationale Open Data Day am 4. März 2017.

Mitglieder