Citizen Builds City - Constructive Criticism

Berlin / June, 2015 / buergerbautstadt.de

Magdalena Noffke, Elektrischer Reporter

Magda © Elektrischer Reporter 

Magdalena Noffke and her team wanted to know what exactly was being built in their neighbourhood. Though the information is public, it isn’t easily accessible. So they created a website that showed all construction plans for Berlin. Pretty neat, we think!

The Idea

Construction sites open up in Berlin all the time. Whenever that happens in a neighbourhood, residents take an interest in what exactly is being built. This is what prompted Magdalena Noffke and her fellow activists to inquire into official documents concerning construction plans. But that was not at all simple. Though the information is publicly available, it is buried in official journals that are scanned and uploaded, which means they cannot be searched. Availability unfortunately doesn’t imply accessibility.

The Insight

Screenshot der Webapp

Citizens can and do have a say in construction projects in their neighbourhoods, but only if they hear about it in time. “There is actually a lot of citizen participation which people aren’t aware of,” says Magdalena. Most residents only hear of plans after the fences are put up. Then it’s too late to get involved.

The Solution

Presenting all construction projects on a single website. By entering your email address, you can receive messages on construction plans in certain districts. This way, citizens can influence what their neighborhoods will look like at an early stage.

It all sounds so complicated that it scares off citizens.

Magdalena N.

Worst Jargon

“Bebauungsplanverfahren” (zoning procedure). Construction plans are presented in a terrible administrative jargon. This word simply means to designate a specific use for an area, for example a residential or commercial use. If changes are made to the zoning, citizens have a right to participate in the decision-making process. “It’s not that complicated, actually,” says Magdalena, “but it all sounds so complicated that it scares off citizens.”

The Next Step

The construction projects can now be found easily. Next, Magdalena wants to make participation easy as well. To do so, she wants to create a template that allows citizens to effectively communicate their input on scheduled construction projects. The platform would automatically forward these comments to the responsible offices.

Members

Bürger baut Stadt - Mitbestimmung statt Baubestimmung

Berlin / Juni, 2015 / buergerbautstadt.de

Magdalena Noffke, Elektrischer Reporter

Magda © Elektrischer Reporter 

Magdalena Noffke und ihre MitstreiterInnen wollten wissen, was genau in ihrem Kiez gebaut wird. Die Informationen sind zwar öffentlich, aber nur schwer zugänglich. Also haben sie kurzerhand eine Website programmiert, die alle Bauvorhaben in Berlin zusammenstellt. Finden wir toll!

Die Idee

Wenn im eigenen Kiez gebaut wird, fragt man sich oft, was dort genau entsteht. So ginge es auch Magdalena Noffke und ihren Mitstreiterinnen. „Wir haben versucht, uns über diese ganzen Baustellen zu informieren“, sagt Magdalena. Doch das war überhaupt nicht einfach. Viele Informationen sind zwar öffentlich, aber schwer zugänglich. Sie verstecken sich in Amtsblättern, die online eingescannt werden. Das heißt, durchsuchen kann man sie nicht.

Die Erkenntnis

Screenshot der Webapp

Bürger können bei Bauprojekten in ihrer Gegend durchaus mitreden – wenn sie denn rechtzeitig davon hören. „Es gibt eigentlich viel Bürgerbeteiligung, von der man aber nichts mitkriegt“, sagt Magdalena. Meistens erfahren BewohnerInnen erst von Bauplänen, wenn die Bauzäune aufgestellt werden. Dann ist es aber schon zu spät, um sich einzubringen.

Die Lösung

Auf einer Webseite Bauvorhaben übersichtlich darstellen. Wer seine E-Mail-Adresse einträgt, kann Nachrichten zu Bauplänen in bestimmten Bezirken erhalten. So können Bürgerinnen und Bürger schon früh mitreden, wie ihr Kiez in Zukunft aussehen soll.

Es hört sich alles so kompliziert an, dass man als Bürger abgeschreckt ist.

Magdalena N.

Schlimmstes Wort

Bebauungsplanverfahren. Baupläne sind in eine dicke Schicht Behördendeutsch eingepackt. Dabei geht es eigentlich nur darum, dass ein Gebiet für eine bestimmte Nutzung ausgewiesen ist – etwas als Wohngegend oder Einkaufszone. Wird diese Zuschreibung (im Behördendeutsch: Widmung) geändert, kann man mitreden. „Eigentlich ist es gar nicht so kompliziert“, sagt auch Magdalena. „Aber es hört sich alles so kompliziert an, dass man als Bürger abgeschreckt ist.“

Der nächste Schritt

Die Bauvorhaben lassen sich übersichtlich finden, nun will Magdalena es auch einfacher machen, sich tatsächlich zu beteiligen. Dazu will sie eine Art Vorlage erstellen. Will eine Bürgerin ihre Meinung zu einem geplanten Bauvorhaben sagen, kann sie ihre eigenen Kommentare in die Vorlage einbauen und das ganze an das zuständige Amt schicken.

Mitglieder