About Code for Germany

Code for Germany is a program supported by the Open Knowledge Foundation Germany in partnership with Code For America. The goal of the program is to promote developments in transparency, open data, and civic technology.
The program started in February 2014 with the founding of Open Knowledge Labs in eight cities. The labs are regional groups of designers, developers, journalists, and civic tech enthusiasts that meet regularly to create useful applications for citizens using open data. They develop apps and inform society about the value of open data, so as to make local government more transparent. In the meantime, the network has grown to 24 labs and comprises a community of over 300 volunteers.

Code for Germany is a part of the international Code for All community, a network of civic tech initiatives around the globe.

We are always looking for new partnerships. Interested cities and sponsors are welcome to get in touch.

Julia Kloiber

Julia Kloiber, Projektleitung, Co-Founder

Fiona Krakenbürger

Fiona Krakenbürger, Community Organizer

Eileen Wagner

Eileen Wagner, Content Manager

Elisa Lindinger

Elisa Lindinger, Project Manager

Laura Dornheim

Laura Dornheim, Fundraising Specialist

Daniel Dietrich

Daniel Dietrich, Consulting

Geraldine de Bastion

Geraldine de Bastion, Co-Founder Konnektiv

Ibrahim Evsan

Ibrahim Evsan, Unternehmer Social Media Experte

Franz-Reinhard Habbel

Franz-Reinhard Habbel, Sprecher des Deutschen Städte- und Gemeindebunds

Lars Hinrichs

Lars Hinrichs, Unternehmer, Gründer von Xing und HackFwd, Aufsichtsratsmitglied Deutsche Telekom AG

Wieland Holfelder

Dr. Wieland Holfelder, Engineering Director Chrome und Site Lead, Google Munich

Jan Lehnardt

Jan Lehnardt, Unternehmer und Entwickler, Gründer CouchDB und Hood.ie

Lena-Sophie Müller

Lena-Sophie Müller, Geschäftsführerin der Initiative D21

Björn Niehaves

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Dr. Björn Niehaves, Lehrstuhlinhaber Fakultät III - Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Wirtschaftsinformatik und Wirtschaftsrecht, Universität Siegen

Pavel Richter

Pavel Richter

Michelle Thorne

Michelle Thorne, Global Strategist at Mozilla Foundation

Marianne Wulff

Dr. Marianne Wulff

Nicolas Zimmer

Nicolas Zimmer, Vorstandsvorsitzender TSB Technologiestiftung Berlin, Start-Up-Gründer